Round 1 2017-12-06T05:31:44+00:00

Round 1

7 December 2017 | 9:00-10:30

Science Journalism: Maximising Outreach, Impact, and Understanding

Moderator: Ms Caroline Southey, The Conversation
Panelist: The Minister of Communications, Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane, Minister of Communications
Panelist: Ms Marina Joubert, Stellenbosch University
Panelist: Mr Khathu Mamaila, Independent Newspapers
Panelist: Ms Mandi Smallhorne, African Federation of Science Journalists
Panelist: Ms Sarah Wild, Science Journalist


The Essence of Frontier Science for Inclusive Development

Moderator:  Dr Aldo Stroebel, National Research Foundation

Panelist: Prof Klaus Bock, European Research Council

Panelist: Prof Paul Nugent, University of Edinburgh

Panelist: Prof Carina Schlebusch, European Research Council grantee

Panelist: Mr Robert-Jan Smits, Research and Innovation at the European Commission

Panelist: Dr. Stéphanie Thiébault , CNRS Ecology and Environment Institute


Research Integrity – A Matter of Global and African Concern

Moderator: Mr Tony Mayer, Nanyang Technological University

Panelist: Dr Francis Kombe, African Research Integrity Network

Panelist: Prof Laetus Lategan, Central University of Technology

Panelist: Prof Mai Har Sham, University of Hong Kong

Panelist: Dr Rocky Skeef, National Research Foundation



Policy Immersion for Scientists and Engineers

Moderator:  Dr Julia MacKenzie, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Panelist: Dr Solomon Assefa, IBM Research

Panelist: Prof Roseanne Diab, Academy of Science of South Africa

Panelist: Dr Tamara Kredo, South African Medical Research Council

Panelist: Dr Clare Mohoro, Towson University

Panelist: Dr Evelyn Namubiru-Mwaura, African Academy of Sciences


The Future Decides Today: The Africa We Want

Moderator:  Gugulethu Cele, CNBC Africa

Panelist: Ms Ama Duncan, Corporate Training Solutions

Panelist: Ms Barbara Glover, NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency

Panelist: Dr Zamantungwa Khumalo, Future Leader Youth Development Programme

Panelist: Ms Fumani Mthembi, Knowledge Pele

Panelist: Dr Towela Nyirenda-Jere, NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency

Panelist: Admiral Joe Sestak, First Global



A Storm on the Horizon in Research Management

Moderator:  Dr Therina Theron, Stellenbosch University

Panellist: Ms Changu Batisani, College of Distance and Open Learning (BOCODOL)

Panellist: Dr David Langley, University of Bristol

Panellist: Dr Anna Matros-Goreses, Namibian University of Science and Technology

Panellist: Prof Thandi Mgwebi, Tshwane University of Technology

Panellist: Prof Asta Pundziene, Kaunas University of Technology


Can Inclusive Development Be Transformative?

Moderator: Dr Glenda Kruss, Human Science Research Council

Panellist: Dr Chux Daniels, Sussex University

Panellist: Dr Michael Gastrow, Human Science Research Council

Panellist: Dr Alexis Habiyaremye, Human Science Research Council

Panellist: Dr Peter Jacobs, Human Science Research Council

Panellist: Prof Heidi van Rooyen, Human Science Research Council


Return To Programme