Round 3 2017-12-06T05:33:43+00:00

Round 3

8 December 2017 | 9:00-10:30

Rapid Science Response Mechanisms

Moderator: Dr Khotso Mokhele, Department of Science and Technology

Panelist: Prof. Howard Alper, University of Ottawa

Panelist: Prof Robin Grimes,Foreign and Commonwealth Office and co-chairs the OECD’s

Panelist: Prof Jeffrey Mphahlele, Research at the South African Medical Research Council


Beyond Good Intentions – The Research Fairness Initiative

Moderator: Ms Linda Nordling, Research Africa

Panelist: Prof Edwin Constable, University of Basel

Panelist: Prof Carel Ijsselmuiden, COHRED

Panelist: Ms Sheila Mburu, UK Collaborative on Development Sciences

Panelist: Prof Mapaseka Seheri, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University

Panelist: Prof Stuart Taberner, University of Leeds



Current Trends of Precision Health

Moderator: Mrs. Nathalie Munyampenda, Associate Director, Partnerships and Public Engagement, Next Einstein Forum 

Panelist: Dr Youssef Travaly, Next Einstein Forum

Panelist: Dr Vinet Coetzee, NEF Fellow, University of Pretoria

Panelist: Ms Glaudina Loots, Director of Health Innovation at the South African Department of Science and Technology

Panelist: Ms Alma Scott, Africa Operations and Partnerships for Johnson & Johnson Global Public Health


African Research and Technology Organisations Working Towards STISA2024

Moderator: Dr Ndumiso Cingo, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Panelist: Mrs Hajara Tanko, Raw Materials Research and Development Council

Panelist: Prof James Kimotho, Kenya Medical Research Institute

Panelist: Prof Kenneth Danso, CSIR – Biotechnology and Nuclear Agricultural Research

Panelist: Prof Charles Kwesiga, Uganda Industrial Research Institute


Return To Programme