Round 4 2017-12-06T05:35:19+00:00

Round 4

8 December 2017 | 11:00-12:30

Big Science, Human Development, and the Square Kilometer Array Telescope

Moderator:  Mr Kevin Govender- Office of Astronomy for Development

Panelist: Dr Rob Adam, Square Kilometre Array: Africa

Panelist: Prof Brian Armstrong, University of the Witwatersrand

Panelist: Prof Phil Diamond, SKAO

Panelist: Dr Michael Gastrow, Human Science Research Council

Panelist: Dr Khotso Mokhele, Department of Science and Technology


The Efficiency and Effectiveness of Science Networks

Moderator: Prof Frans Swanepoel, University of Pretoria

Panelist: Prof John Hearn, University of Sydney

Panelist: Dr Melody Mentz, African Women in Agricultural Research and Development

Panelist: Dr Moses Osiru, RUFORUM

Panelist: Dr Aldo Stroebel, National Research Foundation



Women in Science and Innovation

Moderator: Ms Heidi M Dahl, Innovation Norway

Panelist: Ms Nomso Faith Kana, Sun n Shield 84 Technologies

Panelist: Dr Elisabeth Ljunggren, Nord University

Panelist: Ms Ipeleng Selele, Khumo Group

Panelist: Ms Trine Skymoen, Royal Norwegian Embassy

Panelist: Ms Kirsti L Slotsvik, Norwegian Coastal Administration


Connecting Africa and Asia through Advanced Study

Moderator: Prof Alexander Zehnder, Nanyang Technology University

Panelist: Dr Sahba Besharati, University of the Witwatersrand

Panelist: Prof BVR Chowdari, Nanyang Technology University

Panelist: Prof Charles Mbohwa, University of Johannesburg

Panelist: Dr Kristen Sadler, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Panelist: Prof Peter Vale, University of Johannesburg


Implementation of African Science Plans

Moderator: Prof Jonathan Matondo, University of Swaziland

Panelist: Prof Raymond Durrheim, University of the Witwatersrand

Panelist: Prof Sunita Facknath, University of Mauritius

Panelist: Dr Regina Folorunsho, Nigerian Institute for Oceanography and Marine Research

Panelist: Prof Alberto Júlio Tsamba, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane



SADC Industrialisation Strategy

Moderator: Ms Mmampei Chaba, Department of science and technology

Panelist: Mr Seth Tetteh Akweshie

Panelist: Dr Kekgonne Edinton BAIPOLEDI

Panelist: Dr Rachel Chikwamba, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Panelist: Prof Romain Murenzi, The World Academy of Sciences

Panelist: Prof Mario Sceri, Tshwane University of Technology


Return To Programme