Closing Plenary2019-03-01T11:11:27+02:00

Closing Plenary

14 December 2018



High-Level Panel Discussion: Take Home Messages From SFSA2018


Dr Molapo Qhobela, National Research Foundation

Invited Guests:

Ms Gloria Marmolejo Jaramillo, State Council of Science and Technology of Colima

Dr Eunice Muthengi, Department for International Development

Session Panellists:

Dr Connie Nshemereirwe*, Global Young Academy

Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller, Human Science Research Council

Prof Mai Har Sham, The University of Hong Kong

Dr HlamuloMakelane*, University of Western Cape

Venue: CSIR International Convention Centre

13:30  Closing Plenary Discussion: Reflections on Science Forum South Africa 2018

Moderator: Dr Molapo Qhobela, CEO of the National Research Foundation

Reflections from the Sessions:

Science Communication for Policy Engagement: Dr Tshiamo Motshegwa

Universities as beacons of science engagement in society: Dr Thandi Mgwebi

SDGs and Gender Equality: Prof Himla Soodyall

Impressions from first time Science Forum participant: Prof Mike Matlosz (President of EuroScience)

Science Forum South Africa legacy project: Progress of the African Open Science Platform (AOSP)

Dr Khotso Mokhele (Chair: AOSP International Advisory Council)

Presentation of AOSP Progress Report to African science leaders (Ministers and Commissioner)

Ministerial Reflections:

Her Royal Highness Sikhanyiso, Minister of Information Communication and Technology, Kingdom of Eswatini

Minister Elsadig Elhadi Abdel Rahman Elmhadi, Minister of Scientific Research and Higher Education

15:00  Presentation of the Science Forum South African Science Diplomacy and Exhibition Awards 2018

Minister Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane, Minister of Science and Technology, South Africa


SFSA Awards Ceremony

Daan du Toit

Daan du Toit started his career in the South African Department of Foreign Affairs. Since 2002 he has worked for the Department of Science and Technology – from 2006 as the Department’s representative to the European Union, and from 2014 as the Deputy Director-General: International Cooperation and Resources.

Over the years, his efforts have seen South Africa’s international cooperation in science, technology and innovation (STI) flourish. He played a central role in the establishment and management of the European-South African Science and Technology Advancement Programme, among others, and has represented his country in multilateral forums like the OECD’s Global Science Forum, the Group on Earth Observations, and the Square Kilometre Array Organisation’s Strategy and Business Development Committee.

He is on the Joint Expert Group of the Africa-EU Science, Information Society and Space Partnership, and the Bureau of the Africa-EU High-Level Policy Dialogue on STI. He also oversees South Africa’s STI relations within BRICS.


Launch of the Second Phase of the African Open Science Platform

Prof Khotso Mokhele, International Advisory Committee AOSP


Closing Address by Forum Host:

Mrs Mmamoloko Kubayi Ngubane

Minister of Science and Technology

Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane is currently the Minister of Science and Technology and a member of the National Executive Council of the African National Congress. Before this portfolio, she served as a Minister in two portfolios, Energy and Communications, respectively.

Mmamoloko started her career as a community developer in non-governmental organizations and subsequently joined the banking sector as a Skills development specialist. When she joined the public sector,she started atthe National Health Laboratory Services as a skills development manager and then she was recruitedto becomea director inthe office of the President of South Africa.

In 2009, she became a Member of Parliament of South Africa and assumed several roles including serving as the parliamentary advisor to the then Deputy President of South Africa, Mr Kgalema Motlanthe, then later as a Chairperson of the Portfolio committee on Telecommunications and Postal services.

She holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Vista University, a postgraduate diploma in project management from Damelin college and a Masters degree in Management in Public and Development Management from the University of the Witwatersrand.


AN AFRICAN  CELEBRATION– Celebrating Sisulu and Mandela

Return To Programme