Opening Plenary 2018-11-15T06:56:50+00:00

Pre-Opening Session

12 December 2018
Rembrandt Hall, Hillcrest Campus, Sports Campus


MeerKat and Breakthrough Listen: International Collaboration in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence:
This session will provide an overview of MeerKAT and MeerKAT Science, the international collaborations/projects attracted to South Africa through infrastructure, and an overview of Breakthrough Listen


Mr Fernando Camilo, South African Radio Astronomy Orgnisation, Male, United States of America
Dr Roger Deane, University of Pretoria, Male, South Africa
Dr Andrew Siemion, University of Berkeley, Male, United States of America


Team South Africa – Robotics:
Kids between the ages of 14-18, with a passion for STEM. They represented South Africa at The Robotics Olympics in August in Mexico City. Team SA were ranked 6th in the world. They also won gold for the Walt Disney Award for innovation and creativity.

Opening Plenary Session

12 December 2018
Rembrandt Hall, Hillcrest Campus, Sports Campus


South African Anthem & African Anthem


Welcome by Venue Host:
Prof Cheryl de la Rey, Vice-Chancellor University of Pretoria


Welcome Address by Forum Host:
Mrs Mmamoloko Kubayi Ngubane, Minister of Science and Technology


Address from African Union:
Prof Sarah Anyang Agbor, AU Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology


Keynote Address:
His Excellency, President Cyril Ramaphosa, President of South Africa


SFSA Lecture


Arts & Culture Show


Kwame Nkrumah Continental Scientific Awardee Address


High-Level Opening Panel Discussion: New Approaches to Research Innovation Financing in Africa


Ms Juliette Mutheu-Asega, African Academy of Science

Ms Julie Gichuru, Media Personality

Ms Patricia Amira, Media Personality

Ms Nikiwe Bikitshwa, Amargi Media


Dr Olive Shisana, South African Presidency

Dr Ibrahim Mayaki, New Partnership for Africa’s Development

Prof Louise Fresco, Wageningen University and Research

HE President Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda and Chairperson of the African Union

Mr Patrice Lumumba, Kenya Law Courts

Prof Nelson Torto, African Academy of Sciences

Prof Tebollo Nyokong, Rhodes University

H.E. Amina Mohamed, Minister of Education, Science and Technology of Kenya

Dr Tolu Oni, Global Young Academy

Prof Mannasse Mbonye, National Commission for Science and Technology

Dr Yaya Sangare, Programme d’Appui Strategique a la Recherche Scientifique

Mr Naser Faruqui, International Development Research Centre

Dr Eunice Muthengi, Department for International Development

Prof Nkandu Luo, Minister of Higher Education of Zambia

Return To Programme